Pursuing your dreams and return on investment

Last night I had an interesting conversation with my friend about pursuing one’s dreams and return on investment. It became a strangely mathematical and economical conversation. My friend felt that if you really want something,  it’s worth putting all your time, energy and other necessary resources towards achieving that thing. I, on the other hand, felt quite differently about this.

I have quite a few dreams that I’m very certain will never come true. For example I’d love to work as a professional dancer or a dance teacher, and for that I’d like to get into a school to study dance professionally. I have weekly dance lessons, but I feel that I don’t practise anywhere nearly enough to get into a school. Three hours per week simply is not going to be enough. I don’t feel the need to change this though, because I strongly believe that no matter how much I would practise, it would require a miracle for me to be able to get into a school. So yes, I’m going to apply to a school this spring, but I’m not really going to do anything extra training to prepare for it. It’s not worth it because I’m not going to get in anyway.

I’d like to add that I don’t believe that you can’t try your best, if you think you’re going to fail. I think that when I’m in the entrance exams I do try my best, even though I don’t expect to pass the exams.

So, I for me the formula for how much effort each of my dreams is worth, comes down to two things: how much I want it, and how likely it is that I succeed. Even though I’ d want something more than anything, if I think that it’s not likely that I can achieve that thing, it’s not worth much effort. On the other hand, if I feel that I’m able to achieve the thing, and I want really want it, then even a few failures don’t matter, and I’m willing to do the work needed.

My friend thought that my way of thinking didn’t make any sense, but for me it seems perfectly logical. Maybe I’m lazy and a bit perfectionist who doesn’t want to try if success isn’t quaranteed, but that’s just how I think.

I’m probably not going to write anything next week. I’m going on a little trip on weekend, and there are a lot of things to do before that, so I think I’m not going to have time to write anything. But the next week I’m going to write something. It’s a promise!

Bye! Have a nice week 🙂

Leave a Reply

