Just a short one today…

Some thoughts that a comment from my colleague made me think.

I was planning on writing something here yesterday, but ended up not writing anything. It was mainly because when I sat down to write I felt that I didnt have enugh time and I wasn’t able to consentrate enough to write the post I was planning to write. I feel the post is going to be quite long and it requires quite a lot of planning in order to be coherent and understandable, so I decided to postpone writing it until I have more time and energy to concentrate. But just when I was going to bed I came up with this little thing I could write about, so here you go. It’s a day later than planned but maybe it doesn’t matter.

So, last week I had this one meeting, and when I went to have luch after the meeting I ended up sitting at the same table with one of my colleagues from that meeting. There were our other colleagues there at the same table and at one point, one of them asked this colleague of mine, if he had had a good day so far. His answer was that how it could have been a bad day when he had spent the whole morning sitting across the table from me. This comment of his made me wonder one thing.

I have heard occasionally similar, some might call them semi-flirtatious (I’m not really sure if I should call this flirting, but since I don’t know what else to call it, I do), comments from men I meet regurlarly in my work. For example, in my previous job, I had this regular customer, who sometimes called me “Princess”. I never really mind these comments, but the thing is, they always come from men aged 50 or more. Why is it, that I never heard someone more around my age say these things to me?

Is it that I’m not really pretty enough to attract men’s attention, unless the men are so much older than me that it’s actually my youth that makes me attractive to them? Or is it that the age difference makes the flirting “saver”, because it’s more obvious that they don’t intend it to go anywhere further? I mean, with these men I can just brush it of by thinking that they don’t mean anything by that, and that they are just joking. But if someone I could imagine dating said these things to me, it would make me wonder, what does he mean by that, and is he interested in me or something, and it could lead to some akward situations, especially since these are men I work with.

So, this is what I have been thinking lately. If you have some theories about this, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

