Taking back control

Explaining my efforts to get more in control of my life.

One day in January I realised, that one reason why I didn’t feel happy about my life in 2016, was that I felt that my life was out of my control. By that I don’t mean that I would have lived recklessly. What I mean is, that I felt like other people made decisions about my life and I didn’t have a say in it. For example. during spring I applied for dozens of jobs, but ended up only getting the jobs I didn’t apply for, but which were offered to me by someone I knew. I probably should be proud about that, but I mainly feel that I had to take those jobs, because I didn’t have any other plans.

So, I decided in January, that I want to take back control over my life. I know there are a lot of things I can’t control, but there are also things that I can control, most importantly my time management. There are so many things I want to do, or want to do more, but it feels like I don’t have time for them. And then I end up playing some silly online games or channel surfing for hours… So, I decided to make more of an effort to actually do the things I want to do, instead of wasting my time on something unimportant.

To help me with this goal, I started bullet journaling. If you don’t know what that is about, you can find some information here. At first I tried to follow the original layout and instructions, but it didn’t really work for me. Now I think I have found quite a good monthly layout for me, but my weekly and/or daily layouts are still a work in progress. I’m not 100% sure that this method of journaling and organising my days is the best for me though. I feel that I would prefer a more traditional calendar or planner, but with plenty of room for daily notes, while still showing one week in one spread and being small enough to carry in a handbag. Monthly views would be quite usefull too… (Now I’m just dreaming.) But we’ll see how this bullet journal thing will work out.

The other thing is, that my bullet journal is only for my personal life, and I feel that there isn’t that many tasks for me to write down. I then end up writing down even the smallests of things, which seems a bit silly (though to be fair, more ofthen than not I would forget those small tasks if I hadn’t written then down…). In my professional life I think I could benefit more from using a bullet journal, but I feel like I wouldn’t have time to keep it. I need to do my work, not plan it.

One thing I absolutely love about bullet journal, is that it’s not only a calendar, it’s also a notebook. I haven’t used many notebooks before, because I think they are messy and it’s difficult to find anything from them. But in bullet journal you have an index and page numbers, so it should be easier to find things you have written down earlier. (I find it silly how revolutionary a thought about usng an index in a notebook felt to me… I mean, come on, it’s not like an index is a new thing or anything…)

I think I’d like to write more about what kind of things I put in my bullet journal, but this post is starting to be quite long already, so I think I leave it for another post.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

1 thought on “Taking back control”

Leave a Reply

